Sekai no Hikari: Light of the World

"You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden…In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven."

Inner Fire

on April 25, 2013

        I thought I’d start off by telling you a little bit about my inspiration for the name of this blog. I started with the idea of fire. Somehow, fire (or light) is linked to purpose, hope, and drive, especially in Christian contexts. I got that idea from two sources: an episode of Avatar: The Last Airbender, and a song.

        Avatar is not the most “Christian” show in the world, but I do find that it has elements to it that remind me a lot of Christianity. In the episode, one of the characters speaks of his “inner fire” and how he’d lost it when he changed sides, but then regained it.

        The song that inspired me is one of my current favorites, called “The Lost Get Found,” by Britt Nicole. The lyrics are:

Hello my friend
I remember when you were
So alive with your wide eyes, then the light that you had in your heart was stolen
Now you say that it ain’t worth stayin’
You wanna run but you’re hesitatin’
I’m talkin’ to me

Don’t let your lights go down
Don’t let your fire burn out
Cause somewhere, somebody needs a reason to believe
Why don’t you rise up now?
Don’t be afraid to stand out
That’s how the lost get found
The lost get found

So when you get the chance, are you gonna take it
There’s a really big world at your fingertips
And you know you have the chance to change it
There’s a girl on the streets, she’s cryin’
There’s a man whose faith is dying
Love is calling you

Don’t let your lights go down
Don’t let your fire burn out
Cause somewhere, somebody needs a reason to believe
Why don’t you rise up now?
Don’t be afraid to stand out
That’s how the lost get found
The lost get found

Why do we go with the flow?
Why take the easier road?
Why are we playin’ it safe?
Love came to show us the way
Love is a chance we should take
I’m movin’ out of the way

Don’t let your lights go down
Don’t let your fire burn out
Cause somewhere, somebody needs a reason to believe
Don’t let your lights go down
Don’t let your fire burn out

Cause somewhere, somebody needs a reason to believe
Why don’t you rise up now?
Don’t be afraid to stand out
That’s how the lost get found
The lost get found

So when you get the chance
Are you gonna take it
There’s a really big world at your fingertips
And you know you have the chance to change it

        So you can see how that inspired the naming of this blog. I figured that as a Christian, my “inner fire” comes from Jesus. And it is my duty and privilege as a Christian to light up the world with my inner fire. That led me to the name of this blog, and the Bible verse, which is one of my favorites.

One response to “Inner Fire

  1. anirak85 says:

    I absolutely love your blog! It’s so wonderful to be able to read your thoughts on the Japanese, since I can’t always in person. I can’t wait for more entries. 🙂

Leave a Reply

