Sekai no Hikari: Light of the World

"You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden…In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven."

The Victory

on April 26, 2013

God: “Where, O death, is your victory?”

Us: “I’m a loser.”

God: “Where, O death, is your sting?”

Us: “How can I ever be valuable if I don’t achieve success?”

God: “I give you the victory through Jesus Christ.”

Us: “But how? I’m not perfect.”

        This is a dialogue that appears all too frequently in my mind, and I am writing this to myself as much as to anyone else. 1 Corinthians 15: 55-57 is my all time, ultimate favorite verse. It has to do with specific events in my life’s journey, but also, it has to do with my competitive drive.

        I love to win. In fact, I feel bad when I don’t, and recently, I lost a competition for what seemed to be the umpteenth time. In the midst of my major discouragement, though, I thought of this verse. “He gives us the victory…” Now this most certainly does not mean that we will win everything. But the neat thing about this verse is that God doesn’t just win the victory and we reap the rewards. He actually credits the victory to us, in the same way that the righteousness of Christ is credited to us.

        So when life’s defeats have gotten you down, remember that YOU have won the ultimate victory over death. Humans have sought immortality for centuries and failed, but because of Jesus, you have achieved it. And you are not doomed to live out immortality with evil inside you, dragging you down. No, every minute of your life can be filled with light and love, because of Jesus. You haven’t just tasted victory, you’ve swallowed it whole. Victory is yours.

 

Leave a Reply

